Sleeping on top of the wrong mountain

3

Finally a multi-day hike this year worth writing about. After last time’s dilemma that resulted in legs covered in ice scratches, as well as a crazy busy summer of working 6 day weeks and often 10+ hour days, we were finally able to hike successfully. Almost. 15km in one day isn’t bad, right? It’s perfectly attainable, even on steep hills, and I’m pretty fit, right? Plus, D’mitry is tiny and doesn’t add much weight to my pack, even though he can’t walk and has to be carried everywhere. He’s all about the style shots, not the physical work. What I didn’t know is just how steep the trail would be.

Like any experienced hiker with common sense, I consulted some topographical maps. Sure, it looked really steep, but I’ve hiked steep before. I’ve hiked near-vertical scramble before. I’ll be fine. And honestly, I was fine. It just took a lot longer than I thought. It came to my attention very quickly that I’m not in my early twenties anymore and I don’t bounce back as easily when old teenage injuries come back to bite. At times like that, all I can hear aside from imaginary T-rex screeching from my pocket is my father’s voice telling me that hiking is “80% in your head and 20% in your legs.” It’s one of those mantras that I hated hearing as a teenager but now it kind of makes sense. I may have finally come to the realisation that I’m not indestructible and probably couldn’t actually take on a bear like I always claimed I could, but I can certainly get myself up a mountain.

1
Unfortunately I didn’t get over the second mountain. Having realised that this hike would take a lot longer than originally planned, the group decided it was more realistic to camp on the first peak, before our intended campsite on the second. It worked out for the best, because it turns out the view from this peak was better and spending an evening there meant more time for a dinosaur photo shoot. Here are some highlights from the evening we spent on top of the wrong mountain after a difficult but super rewarding hike.

5

 

4

2

By the way, I had a great time. Challenging hikes are my jam.

6

Leave a comment