D’mitry says you should give blood

donate blood

I’ve has been busy saving lives. It didn’t take much, all I had to do was sit still for twenty minutes and look at amusing pictures on my phone. The sitting still part was difficult but the rest was easy. I even got chocolate milk and a giant cookie when it was over.

This isn’t the first time I’ve given blood although it is the first time D’mitry witnessed it. He was very impressed and wishes humans could accept dinosaur blood too. I haven’t the heart to tell him that, being made entirely of plastic, he doesn’t actually have any blood.

The thing is, however, that I’m not very large and my body doesn’t quite know what to do with a bag of blood missing. The effects are by no means drastic but I did spend an afternoon sitting on the couch trying not to fall asleep despite being super well rested from the world’s greatest night’s sleep the evening prior.

I also ran out of band-aids and had to walk around with the giant bandage the donation centre wrapped around my elbow. A little bit of overkill and many questions asking “What did you do to your arm?” Incidentally, it makes for a great conversation starter. When you inform these people that there isn’t actually anything wrong with your arm, that you just gave blood, it then sparks a conversation that last approximately 10-15 minutes about giving blood and how awesome it is.

So, in light of this adventure, because it absolutely is an adventure, D’mitry says you should give blood. It literally could save lives.

Leave a Reply

