Bucket showers

Bucket showers

For many people the idea of not having hot water is comparable to fighting a room full of bears while trying to text without a QWERTY keyboard. Although I was actually pretty good at old fashioned nine key texting.

For me, not having hot water has become a way of life and for D’mitry, it’s all he’s ever known. After the freezing cold mud puddle, D’mitry was plunged into a sink full of cold, clean water and scrubbed although, if you look carefully, you can still see bits of dirt engrained in his skin. I don’t think it will ever come out.

In my current place of residence, there is no hot water so I have had a taste of D’mitry’s style of cleanliness. Not only that but, as the picture suggests, I don’t have a proper shower. I have a bucket and a tub of cold water. That, for most people, would be like fighting a room full of bears while trying to text without a QWERTY keyboard AND walking through a waterfall on sharp rocks. Perhaps I’m exaggerating.

Myself, on the other hand…
I have come to like my freezing cold bucket showers, especially in light of the climate. Hot, humid weather is not a problem when you pour cold water over yourself. And after only three weeks I can hardly imagine having a real shower. Imagine what it’ll be like after the full six weeks of my shower-less wonder.

Leave a Reply

